Basin Board Member Recognized During Alumni Celebration

Alafia River Basin Board Member Cheryl Johnson was also recognized as being one of Hillsborough Community College’s 40 remarkable alumni.

“When I attended HCC, nearly 25 years ago, I would have never dreamed of being honored as an outstanding alumna,” said Johnson.

Johnson, a property manager for the Tampa Electric Company (TECO), has been a member of the Alafia River Basin Board since April 2004. She was reappointed March 29, 2006, and her term ends March 1, 2009.

In addition to her regular Basin Board duties, the Brandon-area resident enjoys participating in volunteer plantings within the basin.

In her work at TECO, Johnson also secured grants to bring hundreds of middle and high school art students to tour the District’s Surface Water Improvement and Management projects. The tours served as an inspiration for students to learn about the importance of taking care of the environment and to create artwork depicting that message. She also spearheaded the installation of the only webcam that allows the world to view manatees in a natural habitat via the Internet.

Johnson also developed the first leadership seminar for Leadership Hillsborough that concentrates on environmental awareness, which is still used today.

“I consider myself a lifelong learner and believe that if you keep an open mind, you’re never too old to learn something new,” said Johnson.

A proponent of higher learning and secretary of the HCC Alumni Board, Johnson currently mentors two HCC students.

“My goal has been to instill in them a sense of pride in whatever endeavors they pursue and to find a way to give back to the community,” said Johnson.

Johnson is the former host and co-producer of Time Warner’s “Morning Star” television show. She has been awarded the 2004 Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council Future of the Region Education Award; 2004 Gulf Guardian Award Recognition; 2004 National Registry of Environmental Professionals Education and Training Award; and the 2005 Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council Future of the Region Education Award.