Governing Board Officers Elected

New Governing Board Officers Clockwise from top left: Chair Todd Pressman; Vice Chair Ronald E. Oakley; Secretary Hugh M. Gramling; Treasurer Sallie Parks.

Two Governing Board members are moving into new leadership roles this year, while two others have been given their first opportunity to serve as officers.

Todd Pressman was unanimously elected by his peers in May to serve as the District’s Governing Board chair. Pressman served as the Board secretary and vice chair before being elected chair. Pressman thanked his fellow Board members for their support.

“I appreciate your confidence in me,” said Pressman. “I enjoy working with the Board and District staff and look forward to continuing the work of the previous chairs.”

Other Governing Board officers selected include Ronald E. Oakley, vice chair; Hugh Gramling, secretary; and Sallie Parks, treasurer.

The Governing Board elects officers each May. Officers serve a one-year term.

Chair Todd Pressman

Pressman of Oldsmar was first appointed to the Governing Board in April 2005, and he is also co-chair ex officio of the District’s Pinellas-Anclote River Basin Board. He has served as the Governing Board secretary and vice chair. His term expires March 1, 2010.

Pressman graduated from Beachwood High School in Cleveland, Ohio, and then attended Ohio State University.

Pressman has spent the last two decades in the professional pursuit of land-use issues, political campaigns and lobbying. His company has represented more than 100 businesses and interests throughout the country on a wide variety of issues.

In addition to his lobbying and land-use experience, Pressman has served on the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council, the Hillsborough County Code Enforcement Board, the US 19 Task Force and the Pinellas County Re-Development Committee.

Vice Chair Ronald E. Oakley

Oakley of Zephyrhills was appointed to the Governing Board in June 2007. He is also chair ex officio of the Withlacoochee River Basin Board. He has served as the Governing Board treasurer. His term expires March 1, 2011.

Oakley graduated from Pasco High School in Dade City. He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Carson–Newman College in Jefferson City, Tennessee.

Oakley is executive vice president of Oakley Groves, Inc. in Lake Wales. He has spent the majority of his career in the citrus industry and has experience in the caretaking, marketing, processing and transportation of citrus.

In addition to his citrus industry experience, Oakley serves as director of Florida Traditions Bank in Dade City and he is a licensed real estate broker with experience in both real estate and land development.

Secretary Hugh Gramling

Gramling of Plant City was appointed to the Governing Board in April 2008. He is also co-chair ex officio of the Hillsborough River Basin Board. His term expires March 1, 2012.

Gramling graduated from Plant City High School in 1965. He earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Florida.

Gramling is the executive director of the Tampa Bay Wholesale Growers. He is also a member of several professional organizations including the International Plant Propagators Society, the Florida Nursery Growers & Landscape Association, the American Nursery & Landscape Association, and the Florida Society of Association Executives.

In addition to his nursery and landscape industry experience, Gramling is chair of the Hillsborough County Soil & Water Conservation District and has served on the Green Industry Advisory Committee, the Plant City Election Board, the Hillsborough County Utilities Water Technical Advisory Committee, and the Florida Nursery Growers & Landscape Association Research Committee.

Treasurer Sallie Parks

Parks of Palm Harbor was appointed to the Governing Board in March 2006 and is co-chair ex officio of the District’s Pinellas-Anclote River Basin Board. Her term expires March 2010.

Parks is a retired St. Petersburg College lobbyist who has a consulting business. She works with nonprofit organizations on board and leadership development, fundraising, and public relations and marketing.

Parks also served on the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners and, while a commissioner, she served for two years on the board of directors of Tampa Bay Water.

She was also the first executive director of the Pinellas County Arts Council and directed public relations and marketing for Mease Health Care for ten years.

In addition to her professional experience, Parks was president of the Dunedin Rotary Club and currently serves on the boards of the Friends of the Island Parks, Old Palm Harbor Main Street and WorkNet Pinellas, and she chairs the Pinellas County Public Art & Design Committee.