Governing Board Elects Officers

Governing Board Officers

The District’s Governing Board elected new officers at its September meeting. The changes come after the departure of vice chair Hugh M. Gramling.

H. Paul Senft, Jr. remains the chair of the board, but a new vice chair, secretary and treasurer were elected. They are:

Vice Chair Douglas B. Tharp

Tharp of The Villages was appointed to the Governing Board in September 2008. He has also served as the Governing Board secretary and treasurer.

Tharp is a retired industrial engineer. He has more than 15 years’ experience managing large government contracts. He also has more than 10 years’ experience as an outreach specialist for the Penn State Department of Engineering, where he advised entrepreneurs and manufacturers on using technology to improve efficiency.

Tharp serves on the Sumter County Republican Executive Committee and is the past president of The Villages Homeowners Association, which boasts 17,000 members. He currently serves on the association’s board of directors and The Villages Homeowners Charitable Foundation, Inc., which raises money for local charities and disaster relief.

Secretary Albert G. Joerger

Joerger of Sarasota was appointed to the Governing Board in February 2008. He has also served as the Governing Board treasurer.

Joerger currently serves as president emeritus of the Florida Alliance of Land Trusts. He served two governors on their transition teams. He was recognized as one of Sarasota’s top “40 Under 40” by the Gulf Coast Business Review for his work in the Sarasota community, as well as an “environmental hero” by Sarasota Magazine.

Treasurer Jeffrey M. Adams

Adams of St. Petersburg was appointed to the Governing Board in April 2010.

Adams has spent his entire professional career with the law firm of Abbey, Adams, LLP. He began clerking for the firm while attending Stetson University. After graduating, Adams was employed as an associate and became a partner in 1989.

In addition to his legal experience, Adams has held numerous leadership positions in a variety of organizations. He has served as chairman of the Florida Sports Foundation and the Tampa Bay Sports Commission as well as president of the St. Petersburg Country Club. He has also served on the Baseball Antitrust Advisory Commission, the St. Petersburg College Foundation Board, the St. Pete Clearwater Sports Foundation Board and the Tampa Bay Convention and Visitors Bureau Executive Board.