The Southwest Florida Water Management District (District) announced changes to rules governing camping reservations on District lands after the draft rules were submitted to the Florida Legislature during the 2021 legislative session.
These rules went into effect June 23 and will be enforced beginning Oct. 1, 2021. The updated rules provide more fair opportunities for all users and create greater consistency with the other water management districts.
Some changes to the District’s camping rules include:
- Reservations must be made at least 24 hours before the start of the camping permit. You cannot make a reservation for the current day.
- Campers may arrive no earlier than 3 p.m. on the first day of their reservation.
- Campers must depart by 11 a.m. on the final day of their permit.
- Camping is limited to no more than seven consecutive days and 30 total days per calendar year. Any attempt to circumvent the seven-day maximum or 30-day total annual length of stay is prohibited.
- Permittees can hold no more than two active camping reservations at any one time.
- The quiet period is 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. at all campsites.
- The District may revoke a camping permit if the permittee fails to comply with the rules in Chapter 40D-9.
- An updated mobile emergency contact phone number is now required on each reservation.
You can find more information about camping on District lands at WaterMatters.org/Recreation.
Nature & Land