New Officers Selected for Governing Board

The District’s Governing Board elected new officers to the board. 

Randall S. Maggard was elected chair of  


the Governing Board. Maggard represents Pasco County and is vice president of Sonny’s Discount Appliances Inc. in Dade City. Maggard was appointed to the Board in October 2011. 

A native of Dade City, Maggard graduated from Zephyrhills High School. He went on to earn his associate’s degree at Pasco-Hernando Community College in Dade City. Prior to his appointment to the Governing Board, Maggard served on the District’s Coastal Rivers Basin Board from 2004 to 2010, including a term as vice chair. Maggard is chairman of the Pasco County Republican Party and a member of the Zephyrhills Economic Development Board.

Jeffery M. Adams was elected vice- 


chair of the Governing Board. Adams represents Pinellas County and is an attorney and partner with the law firm of Abbey, Adams, LLP, in St. Petersburg. Adams was appointed to the Board in April 2010.

An Illinois native, Adams graduated from Carl Sandburg High School in Orland Park, Illinois and went on to earn a bachelor’s degree from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Adams also earned a juris doctor degree from the Stetson University College of Law in Gulfport, Florida and has been admitted to both the Florida and Illinois bars. He has served as chairman of the the Tampa Bay Sports Commission and president of the St. Petersburg Country Club. He has also served on the St. Petersburg College Foundation Board, the St. Pete Clearwater Sports Foundation Board and the Tampa Bay Convention and Visitors Bureau Executive Board.

Bryan K. Beswick was elected  


secretary of the Governing Board. Beswick represents DeSoto, Hardee and Highlands counties and is a grove manager of Premier Citrus Management in Arcadia. Beswick was appointed to the Governing Board in March 2013. 

A native of Polk County, Beswick graduated from Lakeland Senior High School. He went on to earn a bachelor’s degree in citrus production with a minor in business administration from Florida Southern College in Lakeland.


Ed Armstrong was re-elected as treasurer of the Governing Board. Armstrong 


represents Pinellas County and is an attorney with Hill Ward Henderson in Clearwater. Armstrong was appointed to the Governing Board in June 2014.

A lifelong Florida resident, Armstrong graduated from Dunedin High School. He went on to earn a bachelor’s degree in accounting, Cum Laude, from the University of Maryland in College Park, Maryland and a Juris doctorate degree from Vanderbilt University School of Law in Nashville, Tennessee. Armstrong currently serves on the Board of Trustees for BayCare Health System and Tampa Preparatory School. Armstrong previously served two terms on the Pinellas County Charter Review Commission and is a former board chairman of the Greater Clearwater Chamber of Commerce.

The new officers will serve a one-year term beginning 24 hours before the next Governing Board meeting.

Governing Board members are unpaid, citizen volunteers who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate. The Governing Board sets policy for the District, whose mission is to manage the water and related resources of west central Florida to meet the needs of current and future water users while protecting the environment.