Governing Board Elects New Officers

News Release

The Southwest Florida Water Management District Governing Board voted Tuesday to elect a new slate of officers for the 2020-2021 term.

Kelly Rice was elected chair of the Governing Board. Rice represents Citrus, Lake, Levy and Sumter counties and is a small business owner involved in real estate, agriculture and health care. Rice was appointed to the Governing Board in September 2015.

Joel Schleicher was elected vice chair of the Governing Board. Schleicher represents Charlotte and Sarasota counties and has used his vast knowledge as a successful entrepreneur to challenge the status quo while giving back to the community via various organizations. Schleicher was appointed to the Governing Board in May 2017.

Rebecca Smith was elected secretary of the Governing Board. Smith represents Hillsborough and Pinellas counties and is the president and chief executive officer for both the A.D. Morgan Corporation, a construction firm, and WoofGang Solutions, LLC, a facilities management software solution company. Smith was appointed to the Governing Board in May 2017.

Jim Murphy was elected treasurer of the Governing Board. Murphy represents Polk County and has 30 years of experience in the fluid handling industry. He is a Florida Certified General Contractor and a member of the National Association of Corrosion Engineers. Murphy was appointed to the Governing Board in July 2017.

The new officers took office immediately following the August Governing Board meeting.

Governing Board members are unpaid, citizen volunteers who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate. The Governing Board sets policy for the District, whose mission is to protect water resources, minimize flood risks, and ensure the public’s water needs are met.

Governing Board