District Awards Grants to Schools in Manatee and Sarasota Counties for Water Resources Education

News Release

The Southwest Florida Water Management District (District) awarded $108,304 in grants to 51 educators within the District as part of the Splash! school grant program. The program provides up to $3,000 per school to enhance student knowledge of freshwater resources in grades K-12.

Splash! grants encourage hands-on student learning through STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) activities as well as engagement of the greater school community through awareness campaigns. Each school district allocates a portion of their annual youth education funding provided by the District to support the Splash! grants in their county. 

The District awarded grants to the following schools/teachers in Manatee and Sarasota counties:

  • Ashton Elementary School - Tiffany Lloyd (Sarasota)           
  • Atwater Elementary School - Jessica Scott-Dunda (Sarasota)            
  • Bay Haven School of Basics Plus - Kandace Budai (Sarasota)            
  • Bayshore High School - John Silva (Manatee)          
  • Lakewood Ranch High School - Marisa Naciuk (Manatee)
  • Laurel Nokomis School - Anita Macauley (Sarasota)            
  • Manatee High School - Boontarika Elswick (Manatee)
  • Parrish Community High School - Savanna Finley (Mantee)             
  • Wilkinson Elementary School - Tessa Healy (Sarasota)

Grants are available for freshwater resources field studies, water-conserving garden projects, community or school awareness campaigns and on-site workshops. For more information, please visit the District’s website at WaterMatters.org/SchoolGrants.


Water Conservation