Office of Agricultural Water Policy

The Office of Agricultural Water Policy is a nonregulatory division of the Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (FDACS).

Staff located at service offices of the Southwest Florida Water Management District work with the local agriculture community to promote best management practices (BMPs). They also work closely with the water management districts, USDA-NRCS, soil and water conservation districts, and UF-IFAS to aid in implementation of BMPs to improve water quality and conserve water by using practices adopted in BMP manuals.

Manuals can be accessed online at the state’s Office of Agricultural Water Policy website. In some areas, cost-share is provided for implementation of BMPs.


For more information, contact FDACS staff:

Matt Warren, Environmental Manager
(863) 448-9477

Tammy Hinkle, Environmental Specialist III
(352) 796-7211, ext. 4320 (Brooksville Headquarters)
Cell: (850) 815-1245

Patricia Hobson, Environmental Specialist III
(941) 377-3722, ext. 6516 (Sarasota Service Office)
Cell: (850) 688-0818

Lisa Strange, Environmental Specialist III
(813) 985-7481, ext. 2125 (Tampa Service Office)
Cell: (850) 815-1360