September 16, 2010

Governor Charlie Crist recently appointed Burton Eno and Alan Grubman to the Southwest Florida Water Management District’s Withlacoochee River Basin Board.

Eno is from Dunnellon in Marion County. He is a retired University of Central Florida professor, and has been appointed to succeed John “Jack” Dennis, for a term beginning Sept. 15, 2010, and ending March 1, 2013.

Grubman is from Inverness in Citrus County. He is a retired development manager, and has been appointed to succeed Albert “Bo” Rooks Jr., for a term beginning Sept. 15, 2010, and ending March 1, 2013.

The Withlacoochee River Basin Board area covers portions of Citrus, Hernando, Levy, Marion, Pasco and Sumter counties.

The District has seven regional Basin Boards that provide guidance for local programs that are specific to the basins they protect. The District’s eighth basin, the Green Swamp, is administered by the Governing Board. Basin Boards work with local governments and other entities on water resource projects that have an impact in local communities. Basin Boards often provide partial funding for these projects in partnership with a local government or local cooperator.

Basin Board members are unpaid citizen volunteers appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. They serve three-year staggered terms. Each of the Basin Boards includes a minimum of one person from each county within the basin, and there must be at least three members on each board. Each Basin Board has at least one of the 13 members of the District’s Governing Board that serves as the Board’s chair.

Southwest Florida Water Management District home page

Home Page  •  Who We Are & What We Do  •  Search & Site Map  •  Contact Us  •  Privacy & Disclaimer  •  © Copyright  •  pdf Download PDF Reader